Skip to main content

Nursing -- Graduate Studies Research Guide

What is Grey Literature?

 

Traditional Sources of Grey Literature

New Sources of Grey Literature
  • Theses and dissertations
  • Census, economic and other "grey" data sources
  • Databases if ongoing research
  • Statistics and other data sources
  • Conference proceedings, poster presentations and abstracts
  • Newsletters
  • Research reports
  • Technical specifications, standards and annual reports
  • Informal communications (email, telephone conversations, meetings)
  • Translations
  • Symposia proceedings, conference proceedings
  • e-prints, preprints
  • Electronic networked communication
  • Blogs, podcasts and video on the web
  • Repositories
  • Listserv archives
  • Digital oibraries
  • Spatial data (google earth)
  • Meta-searching, federated searching, portals
  • Wikis, twitter, social media

Sources of Grey Literature

American Associations of Colleges of Nursing  is the national voice for baccalaureate and graduate nursing education.

Virginia Henderson Global Repository is an online access to reliable nursing information that can be easily utilized and shared.

CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Centre for Review and Dissemination provides easy access to quality assessed systematic reviews and economic evaluations and to health technology assessments conducted around the world.

Health Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj) has information about ongoing health services research and public health projects

Health Services Online provides free, online linkages to a comprehensive collection of top-quality courses and references in medicine, public health, pharmacy, dentistry, nursing, basic sciences, and other health sciences disciplines.

IFPMA Clinical Trials Portal  is the International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Associations, the global non-profit NGO representing the research-based pharmaceutical, biotech and vaccine sectors.

Kaiser Family Foundation serves as a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public.

LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP)  includes working documents, preprints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials published by research institutions.

Mednar is a free, deep web search engine.

National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) is a research portal of health services research resources.

National Library of Medicine Locator Plus is a search engine for holdings in the NLM’s extensive collection.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse ARHQ is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) is the world’s first health research funder to publish comprehensive accounts of its commissioned research within its own publicly and permanently available journals.

NTIS is the National Technical Information Service serves as a central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

OpenSIGLE (OpenGray) is a system for Information on Gray Literature in Europe.

Partners in Information Access for Public Health Workforce is a collection of links to Gray Literature resources in Public Health including newspapers, reports and guidelines.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation  supports a mission to improve the health and health care of all Americans.

World Wide Science.org  is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.