LibGuides: Public Health Research Guide: Find Articles

Ask Athena

Databases

Below are selected databases for public health research. For more databases, see our full A-Z database list.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Often Google Scholar will find an article for you, but ask you to pay for it to view the entire article. To access the article for free, ask for help finding it in Fant Library's holdings, or request an Interlibrary Loan.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE indexes the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a great place to start evidence-based nursing research. It offers access to academic/peer-reviewed/scholarly journal articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the early 1800s. 98 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Use Cochrane Library to find systematic reviews, reports regarding controlled trials, data on point-of-care decision making, and more.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

PubMed Special Queries

PubMed offers a number of specialized filters to help you get to relevant results. You can access these options from the PubMed homepage, under PubMed Tools > Topic-Specific Queries. Here are a few examples:

Online resources

Consumer Products Information Database
What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room?
Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.
Incidence & prevalence database : IPD / Timely Data Resources.
LILACS
LILACS is a comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean focusing on increasing visibility, access and quality of health information in the Region.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Toxnet
Resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
Peer Reviewed Open Access Journals

Find Full Text

Within EBSCO databases, you will often see the Find It option, prompting you to seek the full text elsewhere. If you see this button, the full text of the material:

1. Could be in another database

2. Could be in our print holdings

3. Is available through InterLibrary Loan.

Click the Find It button to determine if the material is available through MUW's holdings, and if not, make an Interlibrary Loan request using the link within the page.