LibGuides: Twentieth-Century American Drama: History of Twentieth-Century American Drama

Getting Started

Not sure where to start?

To find scholarly articles and books for your topic, consider using these helpful search terms:

Also, check out our print and electronic resources listed below as well as our databases for information that might help you.

Resources

Library, Museums and Press | Online Exhibitions
Archived Exhibition: Playwrights, Production and Performance: American Theater in the 20th Century
Six Aristotelian Elements of a Play
Elements of Drama (resource from BBC)
Writing about Drama: a handout from the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill's writing center
“The Cult of Newness in Twentieth-Century American Theatre” by Khalid Chaouch
“Expressionism in the Twentieth Century American Drama” by Norbert Joseph Hruby

Creating the Self in the Contemporary American Theatre by Robert J. Andreach
ISBN: 9780809321780
Publication Date: 1998-06-25
Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater by Wenying Xu
ISBN: 9780810855779
Publication Date: 2012-04-12
Modern Drama and the Rhetoric of Theater by W. B. Worthen
ISBN: 9780520074682
Publication Date: 1991-10-23
Realism and the American Dramatic Tradition by William W. Demastes (Editor)
ISBN: 9780817308377
Publication Date: 1996-08-30

The Best American Short Plays 1998-1999 by Glenn Young
Call Number: PS634 .B38 2001
ISBN: 9781557834256
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Extreme Exposure by Jo Bonney (Editor)
Call Number: PS627.M63 E98 2000
ISBN: 9781559361552
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
In Their Own Words by David Savran (Editor)
Call Number: PS352 .P575 1999
ISBN: 9781559361637
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
New American plays by William M. Hoffman
Call Number: PS 634 .N36 V.1
Publication Date: 1965
New trends in 20th century drama: a survey since Ibsen and Shaw. by Lumley, Frederick
Call Number: PN 1861 .L8 1967A C.2
Publication Date: 1967
The Playwright's Art: conversations with contemporary American dramatists by Jackson R. Bryer (Editor)
Call Number: PS352 .P57 1995
ISBN: 0813521297
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Speaking on Stage by Philip C. Kolin (Editor); Colby H. Kullman (Editor)
Call Number: PS352 .S64 1996
ISBN: 9780817307967
Publication Date: 1996-07-30

Academic Search Complete Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Drama Online Library The original Drama Online core collection features 1200 titles from the pre-eminent theatre lists from Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints, as well as and Faber and Faber Ltd. Production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum Performance Archive and The American Shakespeare Center are also included.
Gale Literary Sources Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Content includes Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writer Series
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations of literary scholarship. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Finding more books and articles

Not finding what you're looking for here?

For scholarly articles, check out our databases.
For more book resources, visit the Classic Catalog.
For more eBook resources, access our online collection.