LibGuides: Environmental Science and Sustainability Research: Find Articles

Search Scholarly Databases

Below are selected resources for Environmental Science and Sustainability Research. For more options, browse our database A-Z list, or Search Discovery to search most of the databases at the same time!

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete (created by the International Academy at Santa Barbara), Environment Index offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology and earth and environmental sciences.
Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index is the premier resource for access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for information on sustainability practices within corporations and the business sector.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Look for news coverage, legal cases, or business information regarding sustainability and environmental issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Search for Government Publications

Government databases contain local and national policies, laws, reports, and data related to environmental science and sustainability.

EPA NSCEP This link opens in a new window
Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site
Federal Digital System This link opens in a new window
Search for publications (i.e. congressional hearings, committee reports, etc.) from committees like Agriculture or Natural Resources committees.
In December of 2018, FedSys will change to GovInfo.gov

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Search for scientific research on weather, oceans and coasts, fisheries, satellites, sanctuaries, and more.

Browse particular journals

Databases can contain thousands of journals. Below are a selected list that are relevant to sustainable development. Click to browse or search particular journal articles. To read articles that are not available via PDF, HTML, or Linked Full Text, request an Interlibrary Loan.

Sustainable Development
Emphasizes the need for interdisciplinary research into economic, social and environmental aspects of sustainable development.
Sustainable Development Law & Policy
Provides a valuable resource for practitioners, policy makers, and concerned citizens promoting sustainable development throughout the world.
Journal of Sustainable Forestry
Journal of Ecological Engineering
Covers aspects of environmental protection, including sustainable development, environmental education, etc.
PloS One
A highly-regarded publication that reports on primary research from any scientific discipline.
PloS Biology
Original research articles, essays, & other features as well as synopses of the research article for general audiences.
Landscape Ecology
Covers relationships among landscape pattern, ecological processes and scale and explores the nature and ecological consequences of land use and land cover change.
International Journal of Environmental Studies
Focuses on the relationship between humans and their environment.