Fant Library's guide to resources for research in English literature. Find access to books in print or online, databases for scholarly articles, and access to library help online or in person.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Book Collection: Nonfiction offers fully searchable full text and abstracts for nearly 4000 popular nonfiction books on topics such as careers, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, technology, history, and civics.
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
Chronicling America Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
EBSCO eBooks Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale Literary Sources Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Content includes Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writer Series
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations of literary scholarship. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
NoveList, an imprint of EBSCO Publishing, offers a complete suite of book-finding tools for librarians and readers. NoveList (both the original database and the current enterprise) grew out of public librarian Duncan Smith's need for a resource to help him better serve fiction readers.
Academic Search Complete is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Here researchers will find access to three archival collections - "LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940" Parts I and II, and "Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries". With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in "LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940" present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. "Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries" material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. Coverage includes 1930 to present scholarly and popular publications, including professional journals, books, conference papers, working papers, theses, and more. Essential subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
JSTOR provides archival journal collections which include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
