LibGuides: Resources for Transfer Students: Find articles

Databases

Searching individual databases for journal articles (among other things) will allow you to pull from the best, most appropriate resources. Additionally, not all of the databases are searchable with the Discovery Search!

Below is a featured list of some of the W's most popular databases. For the full list of databases available by subject, click here.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a great place to start evidence-based nursing research. It offers access to academic/peer-reviewed/scholarly journal articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations of literary scholarship. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the early 1800s. 98 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog, helping you find library materials online. Use in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan to get books and other materials from libraries throughout the United States.

Find Full Text

Within EBSCO databases, you will often see the Find It option, prompting you to seek the full text elsewhere. If you see this button, the full text of the material:

1. Could be in another database

2. Could be in our print holdings

3. Is available through InterLibrary Loan.

Click the Find It button to determine if the material is available through MUW's holdings, and if not, make an Interlibrary Loan request using the link within the page.