Art and Design

Contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 90,000 works are currently available online.

Internationally recognized as a premier museum and research center, the Frick is known for its distinguished Old Master paintings and outstanding examples of European sculpture and decorative arts.

Explore 899,113 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. 2 Divisions - the Schomberg Art and Artifacts and the Wallach Art and Architecture and Photograph Divisions may be of particular interest.

Digital collections of paintings, prints, photographs, architecture plans, and more. All items in the link are within the Art and Architecture subject heading.

From the website: "Our vast holdings are a vital resource to anyone interested in American culture over the past 200 years and consist of more than 20 million letters, diaries, scrapbooks, manuscripts, financial records, photographs, films, and audiovisual recordings of artists, dealers, collectors, critics, scholars, museums, galleries, associations, and other art world figures. The Archives also houses the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art."

From the Watson Collection Development Policy: "Materials digitized under this policy include Metropolitan Museum of Art publications, early printed books, early trade catalogs, exhibition catalogs, decorated publishers’ bindings, Japanese illustrated books, fashion plates and sketches, illustrations, photographs, manuscript documents, current auction catalogs, maps, architectural drawings, and audio recordings."

Create a timeline, map, virtual reality story, or comparison that embeds images and gives them context

Create digital exhibits with an immersive, virtual reality experience.

Mukurtu (MOOK-oo-too) is a grassroots project aiming to empower communities to manage, share, narrate, and exchange their digital heritage in culturally relevant and ethically-minded ways.

Omeka Classic is a web publishing platform for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits. Developed by the Roy Rosensweig Center for History and New Media and George Mason University.

SuAVE is used for social, political and behavioral surveys, in visual arts and humanities, biology and ecology, geosciences and urban planning, medical informatics, and portfolio analysis.

Scalar is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in a variety of ways, with minimal technical expertise required.

WordPress is full content management system to build exhibits, portfolios, or static websites through the thousands of plugins and widgets and themes.

The Ann Lewis Women's Suffrage Collection is a privately owned collection amassed over twenty years. It is comprised of more than 1,200 books, objects, correspondence, periodicals, lobbying materials, postcards, and more. Created using Omeka.

The site narrates the unique history of Starkville, Mississippi’s civil rights struggles with particular emphasis on the local fight for school desegregation. Created using WordPress.

Ind-depth analysis of Bosch's triptych, Garden of Early Delights. Created using StoryMap, a tool in the KnightLab Suite.

Performing Archive: Edward S. Curtis + "the vanishing race" is an aggregation of several existing archival visual, material, and sonic collections based on the work of Edward S. Curtis, an early 20th century photographer. Created using Scalar.