LibGuides: Communication Research: Find News

Helpful Websites

AdViews
AdViews is hosted by Duke University and it is a digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
The Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania has been the premier communication policy center in the country since its founding in 1993. APPC’s work has informed the policy debates around campaign finance, children’s television, Internet privacy, tobacco advertising and the tone of discourse in Washington.
C-Span Video Library
The C-SPAN Video Library began within the Purdue University School of Liberal Arts in 1987 under the leadership of Dr. Robert X. Browning, who sought a way to archive and index the thousands of hours of congressional coverage produced by the network every year. The project quickly became one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content, and C-SPAN assumed responsibility for the archival operations in July 1998.
Journalist's Toolbox
This blog from The Society of Professional Journalists provides tips and resources on a broad range of journalistic topics organized by category. This is a great place to look for professional level resources in reporting.
Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas
The Knight Center was created in August 2002 as a professional training and outreach program for journalists in Latin America and the Caribbean. Our main objective is to train journalists and help them develop training programs that will raise the ethical and professional levels of journalism.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Politifact
Fact-checking journalism is the heart of PolitiFact. Our core principles are independence, transparency, fairness, thorough reporting and clear writing. The reason we publish is to give citizens the information they need to govern themselves in a democracy.
Pulitzer Prizes
The Pulitzer Prizes site contains the complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners from 1917 (the first year the Prizes were awarded) to the present. The site also lists Nominated Finalists from 1980 (the first year finalists were announced) through the present. The Pulitzer site also contains winning entries in the Journalism categories from 1995 through the present, and selected material from winners in the Letters, Drama and Music and Special Awards and Citations categories.
The Reporter's Committee for Freedom of the Press
The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press provides pro bono legal representation, amicus curiae support, and other legal resources to protect First Amendment freedoms and the newsgathering rights of journalists.
Student Press Law Center
This non-profit "works at the intersection of law, journalism and education to promote, support and defend the rights of student journalists and their advisers at the high school and college levels" (SPLC). Look here for information legal issues surround student journalism and the variances in each state.

Newspaper Source™

Use Newspaper Source™ to find news from around the globe.

Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Daily Journal (Tupelo, MS), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc.

This database allows you to search for news articles based on topic, timeline, publication, and more. Start your search in the box below.

Narrow your search results by using the menu options to the left of the results list. Click the arrows to open each limiter and view results based on publication type, date range, company and more. Be sure to check the box for Full Text to find resources you can access in full.

Communication Research

Local Resources

Newspapers

Helpful Websites

Newspaper Source™