LibGuides: Nutrition: Find Web Resources

Online Resources

Websites
Videos

Government Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Nutrition The availability of healthy, affordable foods contributes to a person’s diet and risk of related chronic diseases. As part of their mission the US CDC offers several nutrition based programs.
Choose My Plate (formerly What's Cooking? USDA Mixing Bowl) provides recipes and resources to support building healthy and budget-friendly meals. MyPlate Kitchen includes recipes from the USDA Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) programs including the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).
Healthy Eating Plate can be used as a guide for creating healthy, balanced meals—whether served on a plate or packed in a lunch box.
Healthy People 2020 is a Law and Health Policy project showcases evidence-based legal and policy interventions that impact public health.
Food & Nutrition [MedlinePlus] is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This website has useful information on a large number of topics.
nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable resources on food, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety. Find links to information from Federal agencies, non-governmental organizations, and universities with expertise in food and human nutrition to help you make healthful eating choices.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Center for Nutrition and Policy and Promotion "works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers."
US Food and Drug Administration "is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation."

Research Websites

Food and Nutrition Sciences is an open-access scholarly journal that provides articles to current and past research pertaining to the nutrition sciences field.
Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review (formerly the Nutrition Evidence Library) specializes in conducting food- and nutrition-related systematic reviews.
Nutrition Research and Practice "aims to stimulate research and practice across diverse areas of human nutrition. The Journal publishes peer-reviewed original manuscripts on nutrition biochemistry and metabolism, community nutrition, nutrition and disease management, nutritional epidemiology, nutrition education, food service management."

The video database, Kanopy, offers videos and documentaries on many topics including Nutrition.

The following documentaries on Kanopy may be of interest to you or relevant to your topic:

CDC Data & Statistics is a list of data and statistics by topic, interactive database tools, surveillance systems, and tracking networks by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
CDC WONDER provides links to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data. Topics include chronic diseases, communicable diseases, environmental health, health practice and prevention, injury prevention, and occupational health.
Data.CDC.gov provides data that can be easily filtered, syndicated to external sites, and visualized in charts, graphs, and maps from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC) is a scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.
National Center for Environmental Health (CDC) provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health.
National Center for Health Statistics is the nation’s principal health statistics agency. Data are collected from birth and death records, medical records, interviews, direct physical exams and laboratory testing. The site contains a link to “FASTATS A-Z” which allows the user to search for health statistics by topic. The site provides both summary-level and micro-level data.
WISQARS (CDC) is database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources
Vital Statistics of the US provides annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including nationality, mortality, marriage and divorce. These reports are available for download.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) publishes evidence-based information on health care outcomes; quality; and cost, use, and access. Data available on this site include the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), and HIV and AIDS Costs and Use (HIVnet).
America's Health Rankings is America’s Health Rankings provides an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.
Data.gov allows users to explore datasets, tools, and applications related to health and health care. These resources come from across the Federal Government with the goal of improving the health and lives of all Americans.
Demographic and Health Surveys provides technical assistance to more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries.
Health Data Tools and Statistics is a comprehensive list of links to local, state, national and international health statistics and data sets. Provided by Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences librarians.
HealthData.gov is a US government data portal that is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers.
Health Resources and Services Administration provides maps, data, reports, and dashboards to the public about HRSA’s health care programs. The data integrates with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, providing information about HRSA’s grants, loan and scholarship programs, health centers, and other public health programs and services.
Kaiser Family Foundation - State Health Facts provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.
Mississippi Department of Health Data and Statistics collects data on the health and wellness of Mississippians in order to advance health in the state.
Mississippi STatistically Automated Health Resource System (MSTAHRS) allows for the retrieval of vital records and other health related data. Queries can be customized to provide answers to very common data requests.
World Health Organizations (WHO) works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable. This site provides health-related data from across the world.