LibGuides: Late American Literature: Resources for Realist Literature (1865-1914)

Getting Started

Focus texts

"A Noiseless, Patient Spider" by Walt Whitman
"A Spider Sewed at Night" by Emily Dickinson
"The Yellow Wallpaper" by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
"Desiree's Baby" by Kate Chopin

Articles and Books

To find articles and books on your topic, consider using the following search terms:

Research Starters

Research starters serve as encyclopedia entries and summaries rather than sources to cite in your paper. It is a great place to start learning more about topics that might pique your interest!

Also, check out our print and electronic resources listed below as well as our databases for information that might help you.

Resources

American Realism by Eric J. Sundquist (Editor)
Call Number: PS 374 .R37 A47 1982

ISBN: 0801827957

Publication Date: 1969-09-01
Circumference and circumstance: stages in the mind and art of Emily Dickinson by Sherwood, William R.
Call Number: PS 1541 .Z5 S5

Publication Date: 1968
The ferment of realism: American literature, 1884-1919 by Berthoff, Warner
Call Number: PS 214 .B4 C.2

Publication Date: 1965
Kate Chopin in the Twenty-First Century by Heather Ostman
Call Number: PS 1294 .C63 K384 2008

ISBN: 9781847186478

Publication Date: 2008-08-01
The Living of Charlotte Perkins Gilman by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Zona Gale
Call Number: PS 1744 .G57 Z5 1972

ISBN: 9780405044595

Publication Date: 1975-06-01
Realism and naturalism in nineteenth-century American literature by Pizer, Donald
Call Number: PS124.P5

Publication Date: 1966
Walt Whitman's America by David S. Reynolds
Call Number: PS3231 .R48 1996

ISBN: 9780679767091

Publication Date: 1996-03-19
Walt Whitman: the critical heritage by Milton Hindus
Call Number: PS 3238 .H5 1971B

ISBN: 9780389042082

Publication Date: 1971-01-01

American Literary Realism and the Failed Promise of Contract by Brook Thomas
ISBN: 9780520216648

Publication Date: 1999-01-04
Charlotte Perkins Gilman by Cynthia J. Davis
ISBN: 9780804738880

Publication Date: 2010-03-02
Documents of American Realism and Naturalism by Donald Pizer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780809320967

Publication Date: 1998-02-01
The Literature of Reconstruction: Not in Plain Black and White by Brook Thomas
ISBN: 9781421421322

Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Realism and the American Dramatic Tradition by William W. Demastes (Editor)
ISBN: 9780817308377

Publication Date: 1996-08-30
The Theory and Practice of American Literary Naturalism by Donald Pizer
ISBN: 9780809318476

Publication Date: 1993-05-28
Walt Whitman by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 9780791051085

Publication Date: 1999-01-01

Academic Search Complete Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 110,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. BNNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.
EBSCO eBooks Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale Literary Sources Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Content includes Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writer Series
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations of literary scholarship. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Dickinson Electronic Archives: "A creative and critical collaboratory for reading Dickinson's material bodies and for featuring new critical and theoretical work about Emily Dickinson's writings, biography, reception, and influence."
Journal Article: "Regionalism in American Literature" by Tremaine McDowell
Journal Article: "What is Literary Realism?" by Mary Francis Slattery
The Kate Chopin International Society: "provides a network for scholars interested in Kate Chopin, and it acts as a bridge between scholars and others—students, teachers, librarians, journalists, playwrights, filmmakers, translators, book club members, bloggers, and other readers in the United States and in countries around the world."
Kate Chopin: A Re-Awakening provides information on Chopin's life and her works. The site includes links to full-texts of her works as well as links to criticism and primary sources.
Library of Southern Literature: "Regionalism and Local Color"
Article: "On the Influence of Naturalism on American Literature" by Xiaofen Zhang introduces naturalism, its characteristics, and its influence on American literature.
The Walt Whitman Archive contains full texts of published works, manuscripts, letters, essays, and photos of Walt Whitman

Finding more books and articles

Not finding what you're looking for here?

For scholarly articles, check out our databases.
For more book resources, visit the Classic Catalog.
For more eBook resources, access our online collection.