LibGuides: Late American Literature: Resources for Postmodernism/Contemporary Literature (1965-present)

Getting Started

Focus Texts

"Petrified Man" by Eudora Welty
"Good Country People" by Flannery O'Connor
excerpt from Personism: A Manifesto by Frank O'Hara
"Why I am not a Painter" and "The Day Lady Died" by Frank O'Hara
A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
"Sex without Love" by Sharon Olds
"A Valediction Forbidding Mourning" by Adrienne Rich

Books and Articles

To find articles and books on your topic, consider using the following search terms:

Research Starters

Resources

An American Triptych: Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Adrienne Rich by Wendy Martin
Call Number: PS 310 .F45 M3 1984
ISBN: 9780807815731
Publication Date: 1984-01-16
The Complete Stories by Flannery O'Connor
Call Number: PS3565 .C57 C737 1971
ISBN: 9780374127527
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
Conversations with Flannery O'Connor by Rosemary M. Magee (Editor)
Call Number: PS3565 .C57 Z464 1987
ISBN: 9780878052646
Publication Date: 1987-02-01
Eudora Welty, Whiteness, and Race by David McWhirter (Contribution by); Donnie McMahand (Contribution by); Jean C. Griffith (Contribution by); Julia Eichelberger (Contribution by); Keri Watson (Contribution by); Mae Claxton (Contribution by); Patricia Yaeger (Contribution by); Rebecca Mark (Contribution by); Sarah Ford (Contribution by); Susan V. Donaldson (Contribution by); Suzanne Marrs (Contribution by); Harriet Pollack (Editor)
Call Number: PS3545 .E6 Z675 2013
ISBN: 9780820344324
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
My Friend Tom by William Jay Smith; Suzanne Marrs (Foreword by)
Call Number: PS3545.I5365 Z8355 2012
ISBN: 9781617031755
Publication Date: 2012-01-12
Resisting History: gender, modernity, and authorship in William Faulkner, Zora Neale Hurston, and Eudora Welty by Barbara Ladd
Call Number: PS261 .L34 2007
ISBN: 9780807132234
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Self and Sensibility in Contemporary American Poetry by Charles Altieri
Call Number: PS 325 .A38 1984
ISBN: 9780521253963
Publication Date: 1984-05-25

Refiguring Modernism, Volume 1 by Bonnie Kime Scott
ISBN: 9780253209955
Publication Date: 1996-01-22
American Literature from 1945 Through Today by Adam Augustyn (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615301331
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Tennessee Williams by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 9780791052402
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Anglo-American Feminist Challenges to the Rhetorical Traditions by Krista Ratcliffe
ISBN: 9780809319343
Publication Date: 1996-01-17
Creating Flannery O'Connor by Daniel Moran
ISBN: 9780820349541
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
The Critical Reception of Flannery O'Connor, 1952-2017 by Robert C. Evans
ISBN: 9781571139436
Publication Date: 2018-05-01

Academic Search Complete Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 110,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. BNNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.
EBSCO eBooks Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale Literary Sources Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Content includes Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writer Series
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations of literary scholarship. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

AdrienneRich.net provides author biographical information as well as a bibliography with links to works, articles, and sound recordings of her readings.
Biography of Flannery O'Connor by New Georgia Encyclopedia
The Eudora Welty Foundation includes information on Eudora Welty's works, career, and life.
Frankohara.org includes selections of Frank O'Hara's poems, audio, videos, and photograph.
Modern American Poetry is a learning environment and resource for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry. The site provides biographical and historical information, criticism, and other materials. The site also includes audio, other media files, essays, images of poets and book jackets, bibliographies, archives, and teaching resources.
Poetry Foundation's page on Tennessee Williams provides author background and full texts of his works.

Finding more books and articles

Not finding what you're looking for here?

For scholarly articles, check out our databases.
For more book resources, visit the Classic Catalog.
For more eBook resources, access our online collection.