The LGBT+ Alumni Oral History Project is an ongoing, annual project with the goal of documenting the experiences of former students of Mississippi University for Women/Mississippi State College for Women with diverse gender and sexual identities.
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Here researchers will find access to three archival collections - "LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940" Parts I and II, and "Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries".
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. Coverage includes 1930 to present of scholarly and popular publications, including professional journals, books, conference papers, working papers, theses and more. Essential subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.
Frank Kameny was a significant American gay rights activist in the late twentieth century. After being fired from his government job in 1957, he became a major advocate for gay rights in the United States. This site contains digital versions of this correspondence and memorabilia.
The LGBT Community Center National History Archive serves to preserve the history of our community and its rich heritage. Founded in 1990 by volunteer archivist Rich Wandel, the archive provides a look into the lives and experiences of LGBT people throughout the years. It provides Photography, Correspondence, News Clippings, Radio Soundbytes, Video Broadcasts, Personal Journals.
The collections at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries are primarily national in scope, with special focus on LGBTQ histories in the Los Angeles region. The archives also include a number of international materials, such as books, periodicals, and posters.
OutWeek Magazine was the seminal lesbian and gay publication during the peak era of AIDS activism in the late 1980s and early 1990s . This website contains the entire 105 issues of OutWeek Magazine, published in New York from June, 1989 to July, 1991.
OutHistory.org was founded in October 2008 by Jonathan Ned Katz, author of the groundbreaking Gay American History (1976) and other books on the history of sexuality. When the Internet became part of the everyday life of millions – even billions – of people in the 21st century, Katz understood that the work of archiving, establishing LGBTQ chronologies, and highlighting new discoveries begun in Gay American History should continue on a digital platform. Outhistory.org allows researchers to search by time period, allowing them to narrow results only to their time of study.
When police raided the Stonewall Inn, a popular gay bar in the Greenwich Village section of New York City on June 28, 1969, the street erupted into violent protests that lasted for the next six days. The Stonewall riots, as they came to be known, marked a major turning point in the modern gay civil rights movement in the United States and around the world.