Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide

A resource guide to help students using the Chicago Manual of Style citation method.

Introduction to Chicago

The Chicago Manual of Style is an American English style guide that was first developed by the University of Chicago Press in 1906 as guidelines for consistent writing and publishing formatting. Chicago Style is used most often in the humanities, social sciences, and the arts.

This guide aims to address some of the basic principles and rules of the style and is based on the most recent edition, seventeen.

More specific and detailed information can be found in the print edition and on the Chicago Manual of Style website

Notes and Bibliography vs. Author-Date

There are two formats of Chicago citation: Notes and Bibliography style and Author-Date style.

Both styles are similar and are mostly different in the way that it directs readers to sources and the format. Notes and Bibliography is most often used in disciplines such as literature, history, and the arts. This version of Chicago uses endnotes or footnotes with a corresponding Bibliography.

example image of notes and bibliography style

Author-Date is like APA and MLA citation styles in that it also has parenthetical in-text citations. However, the main components are identical to Notes and Bibliography. The primary difference between the two are the parenthetical citations and the placement of the year in the bibliography.

example image of Chicago Manual of Style Author-Date citation

Citing with Library Resources

 

 

 

 

Most library databases will have a tool that helps build your citation. While we recommend these, we also recommend double checking your work! Sometimes these citations will have a glitch with capitalization or page numbers. 

Look for a tool in a side or top menu that says "Cite" and check the information!