Atul Gawande, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End (London: Profile Books, 2014), 79–80.
Gawande, Being Mortal, 191.
Gawande, Atul. Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End. London: Profile Books, 2014.
Footnote
Robert S. Cox and Jacob Walker, Massachusetts Cranberry Culture: A History from Bog to Table (Charleston, SC: American Palate, 2012), 42.
Shortened Footnote
Cox and Walker, Massachusetts Cranberry Culture, 112.
Bibliography
Cox, Robert S. and Jacob Walker. Cranberry Culture: A History from Bog to Table. Charleston, SC: American Palate, 2012.
Footnote
Natalia V. Gmuca et al., “The Fat and the Furriest: Morphological Changes in Harp Seal Fur with Ontogeny,” Physiological and Biochemical Zoology 88, no. 2 (March/April 2015): 158.
Shortened Footnote
Gmuca et al., “Harp Seal Fur,” 160.
Bibliography
Gmuca, Natalia V., Linnea E. Pearson, Jennifer M. Burns, and Heather E. M. Liwanag. “The Fat and the Furriest: Morphological Changes in Harp Seal Fur with Ontogeny.” Physiological and Biochemical Zoology 88, no. 2 (March/April 2015): 158–66.
For works with more than ten authors—more common in the natural sciences—Chicago recommends the policy followed by the American Naturalist: only the first seven should be listed in the bibliography, followed by et al.
Footnote
Jennifer Egan, ed., The Best American Short Stories, 2014 (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014), 100.
Shortened Footnote
Egan, Best American Short Stories, 301–2.
Bibliography
Egan, Jennifer, ed. The Best American Short Stories, 2014. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014.
Footnote
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, trans. Theodore Silverstein (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974), 34.
Shortened Footnote
Sir Gawain, 38.
Bibliography
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. Translated by Theodore Silverstein. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974.
Footnote
Kate Andersen Brower, “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief,” in The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House (New York: Harper, 2015), 211.
Shortened Footnote
Brower, “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief,” 114.
Bibliography
Brower, Kate Andersen. “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief.” In The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House, 207–22. New York: Harper, 2015.
Footnote
Ruth A. Miller, “Posthuman,” in Critical Terms for the Study of Gender, ed. Catharine R. Stimpson and Gilbert Herdt (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014), 325.
Shortened Footnote
Miller, “Posthuman,” 325.
Bibliography
Ellet, Elizabeth F. L. “By Rail and Stage to Galena.” In Prairie State: Impressions of Illinois, 1673–1967, by Travelers and Other Observers, edited by Paul M. Angle, 271–79. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1968.
Footnote
Henry David Thoreau, “Walking,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis:
Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.
Shortened Footnote
Thoreau, “Walking,” 182.
Bibliography
Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95.
Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
Footnote
Adams to Charles Milnes Gaskell, Baden, September 22, 1867, in Letters of Henry Adams, 1858–1891, ed. Worthington Chauncey Ford (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930), 133–34.
Shortened Footnote
Adams to Baden, Letters of Henry Adams,133–34.
Bibliography
Adams, Henry. Letters of Henry Adams, 1858–1891. Edited by Worthington Chauncey Ford. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930.
Footnote
A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610).
Shortened Footnote
A True and Sincere Declaration (London, 1610).
Bibliography
A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.
Footnote
Adam Begley, Updike (New York: Harper, 2014), 16-24, Kindle.
Shortened Footnote
Begley, Updike, 40.
Bibliography
Begley, Adam. Updike. New York: Harper, 2014. Kindle.