Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. Coverage includes 1930 to present of scholarly and popular publications, including professional journals, books, conference papers, working papers, theses and more. Essential subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, and providing points for comparison. By providing primary source material from both sides in one comprehensive, meticulously indexed resource, Gale makes it possible for researchers to make connections not previously discoverable.
Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.
The Activist Women Oral History Project was established in 2006, and forms part of the Archives for Research and Gender. This project is broad in scope, and the subject matter includes domestic violence, women's health and reproductive justice, politics, policy making and the law, child sex trafficking, philanthropy, community activism, art and culture, equality in the workplace, civil rights, and LGBTQ activism.
Jo Freeman is the author of many scholarly and journalistic articles. About half of her articles available on this site for reading, downloading and printing including: The Bitch Manifesto, A TIme for Choosing, and From Suffrage to Women's Liberation.
The Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African American women between 1976 and 1981. With support from the Schlesinger Library, the project recorded a cross section of women who had made significant contributions to American society during the first half of the 20th century.
The Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Project and Archive was created under the supervision of professor María Cotera and Linda Garcia Merchant in collaboration with The Institute for Computing in Humanities Arts and Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign. This project was made possible through the generous financial support of the University of Michigan and the many women who shared their time, their memories, and their artifacts.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
The Feminine Mystique is a book written by Betty Friedan that is widely credited with sparking the beginning of second-wave feminism in the United States.
Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world. The speeches can be searched by year and the site contains speeches from 1848-2009
Photographs, articles, flyers, planning documents, and responses to the 1968 and 1969 Miss America pageant protests. From the Duke University Libraries Digital Collections.
he struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, Archives Library Information Center presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.
Produced by the Special Collections Library at Duke University, the online archive collections include primary source materials from the Women's Liberation Movement, African-American Women, and Civil War Women.
This collection consists of correspondence, scrapbooks, clippings, college records, images, diaries, publications and ephemera documenting the history of women physicians.
