Skip to Main Content

MUW Fant Library Instruction Materials

Objectives, descriptions, and supplemental materials for library instruction sessions

Introduction to Archives

Introduction to Archivesstudents in MUW archives

  • Learning Objective(s): 

    • Identify what archives are.

    • Understand why archives are important.

    • Learn about the Beulah Culbertson Archives and Special Collections.

    • Find and use digital collections.

  • Description: This presentation was created to introduce undergraduate students to to the archive. It broadly defines what archives are, why they are important, different types of archives, how to find and use the Beulah Culbertson Archives and Special Collections, and how to utilize digital collections.
  • Use Cases: This presentation has been used to introduce archival theory and practice to history students and archive interns.
  • Related Materials:

Primary, Secondary & Tertiary Sources

Primary vs. Secondary Sources the women's liberation movement in america cover

  • Learning Objective(s): 
    • Determine the difference between primary, secondary, and tertiary historical primary source documents and when to use them.
  • Description: This handout/assignment was created to help undergraduate students to learn the difference between primary, secondary, and tertiary historical sources and how to use them in their research.  This exercise can be used in library instruction sessions for any classes that expect students to use these types of sources. 
  • Use Cases: This handout was created to supplement an instruction session, but it can be used as a stand alone.
  • Related Materials: