Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literary Criticism

a guide for finding and writing about literary criticism

Getting Started

Not sure where to start?  

To find scholarly articles for your topic, consider using these helpful search terms: 

Also, check out our print and electronic resources listed below as well as our databases for information that might help you.  

Resources

African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection offers a wide and eclectic review of African American history and culture. It contains works written by African-American authors and works written by others on important topics in African-American history. The works come in the form of speeches, biographies, narratives, legal documents, poetry, and more.

The African American Mosaic is an online exhibit that includes prints and photographs, maps, books, and periodicals about Colonization, Abolition, Migrations, and the Works Progress Administration.

Black History and Culture is Google's collection of more than 4,000 online primary sources including documents, photographs, and other artifacts that illustrate African American history.

Digital Schomburg African American Women Writers of the 19th Century is a collection of 41 full length books representing several genres such as autobiographies, poetry, novels, compilation of slave testimonies, and memoirs. The collection includes authors such as Phillis Wheatley, Sojourner Truth, Harriett Jacobs, Elizabeth Keckley, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, and Mary Prince, and more.

Library of Southern Literature provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.

Finding more books and articles

Not finding what you're looking for here?