Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literary Criticism

a guide for finding and writing about literary criticism

Getting Started

Not sure where to start?  

To find scholarly articles for your topic, consider using these helpful search terms:

Also, check out our print and electronic resources listed below as well as our databases for information that might help you.  

Resources

F. Scott Fitzgerald relies on the use of photographs to tell the story of Fitzgerald's life.  The website also contains written information on his biography, marriage, works as well as a timeline and information on the "lost generation." 

Hawthorne in Salem is a website that includes information on Nathaniel Hawthorne's life, works, and buildings and homes. It provides access to full texts of Hawthorne's short stories and novels as well as links to lectures, articles, and papers presented and written by scholars.  

Kate Chopin: A Re-Awakening provides information on Chopin's life and her works.  The site includes links to full-texts of her works as well as links to criticism and primary sources.

Literature and Culture of the American 1950s provides scholarly reviews, photographs, newspaper and journal articles, and biographical information about authors and their works. 

Modern American Poetry is a learning environment and resource for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry. The site provides biographical and historical information, criticism, and other materials.  The site also includes audio, other media files, essays, images of poets and book jackets, bibliographies, archives, and teaching resources.

Perspectives in American Literature is a research and reference guide that provides bibliographies and information for topics and authors in American literature from early American literature to postmodernism.  

RayBradbury.com provides information about Ray Bradbury's life and works as well as many photographs of him, his family and home, and his manuscripts.

Finding more books and articles

Not finding what you're looking for here?